Mother’s Day

by bobaloow

This day brings a gamut of emotions. First, to be losing my own mother every day – little by little. Very heart wrenching. She sacrificed a lot for her family. I am grateful to her for all of the lessons and love she bestowed onto me. She did the best she could do as a mom. And I am grateful to her for all of her help with my own kids – she was a very loving grandmother!

Second, I am able to spend this mother’s day with my youngest grandchild – my oldest son’s first child. He is such a treasure. What a sweet boy! I have enjoyed spending the first few days of his life with him – watching his mom and dad figure things out. He’s a lucky little boy to have such loving parents and so many people who really love him, sight unseen! My heart just swells with joy. I now have three grandsons. I am so blessed.

Third, I am filled with sentiment. I am so grateful for my sweet children. They made being a mother so worthwhile. They were easy to love, to be sure. We had our difficult moments, busy times and times of strife and worry. But for the most part, they were very loving and cooperative. They are grown now and starting lives of their own – learning their own lessons. I told my younger son earlier, all I ever really want for mother’s day is to know that my kids are all okay – that there are no reasons to worry. That’s all any mother really wants…

Fourth, and finally, I am so grateful for my husband. He is a pretty good dad and that helped me to be a good mom. He brings strength and balance into this world that is my family.